Jump to Navigation
The Knowledge and Experience to Aggressively Defend You

St. Louis DWI Law Blog

Missouri woman charged after alleged DWI-related accident

Many people may often think that their actions will not affect other people. Unfortunately, this idea typically is not true, and several individuals can be negatively affected by the choices that one person makes. For instance, if a person gets behind the wheel after drinking alcohol, he or she could be involved in a DWI-related accident, which could lead to injuries and potentially serious charges.

A woman in Missouri is currently facing such a situation after she was allegedly involved in a fatal accident. It was reported that the woman was driving a vehicle that had seven other passengers, many of them children. The woman purportedly lost control of the vehicle, which caused it to leave the roadway, hit a tree and overturn. All of the individuals inside the vehicle were injured.

DWI conviction can be expunged in Missouri

No human being is perfect. Although serious mistakes may have been committed in the past, it is entirely possible to push forward through past actions. Nevertheless, a prior conviction for a DWI can have a serious impact on your life, including affecting job opportunities. Under certain circumstances, Missouri permits a DWI conviction to be expunged.

Even if a DWI occurred 30 years ago, the conviction may be noted, if a potential employer performs a background check. Sadly, a single mistake can follow you for a life time, as Missouri does not have a time limit for looking back at prior criminal convictions. In order to continue to seek and hopefully earn gainful employment, it is possible to seek expungement for a prior DWI as long as you qualify.

Avoid driver's license suspension in Missouri this Labor Day

As the Labor Day weekend quickly heads our way, many Missouri residents may be planning festive get-togethers for the holiday weekend. In many cases, these parties could potentially involve consumption of alcohol, and if so, parties should remember that drinking and driving do not mix. If individuals do have a lapse in judgment and get behind the wheel, they could potentially face driver's license suspension.

Last year, troopers in Missouri took 119 individuals into custody for drinking and driving over the holiday weekend. It was also reported that of the crashes that took place in the state last year, approximately 30 percent were alcohol-related incidents. Authorities urge individuals to have a designated driver if they believe they will be consuming alcohol during any of their outings.

Breathalyzer refusal can help protect those charged with DWI

Breathalyzer tests are commonly used by police when they suspect that a driver may be operating a vehicle under the influence of alcohol. These simple and commonplace tests can actually carry quite a bit of weight when it comes to building a DWI case against you. What you may not know is that you can actually refuse to comply with the breathalyzer test, and a Missouri police officer can’t force you to take it.

Taking a breathalyzer test after being stopped for an alleged traffic violation is ultimately handing over evidence that may be further used against you sometime in the future. Once a driver refuses the test, they are generally subjected to what are known as field sobriety tests. These tests might include an officer requesting that you recite the alphabet backwards or attempt to walk in a straight line.

Missouri man charged for DWI, driving on revoked driver's license

Being involved in a car accident can be scary and stressful. If the person is injured, he or she may be worried about the recovery and treatment of his or her injuries. The situation could potentially become more complicated and stressful if authorities believe that the driver was under the influence at the time of the accident or using a revoked driver's license.

A man in Missouri may be feeling such stress after he was taken into custody. Reports indicate that the man was allegedly involved in a single-car accident. He apparently began to go off the paved roadway and attempted to correct his mistake. In this attempt, he reportedly overcorrected and caused his vehicle to travel off the other side of the roadway. His vehicle then hit an embankment and turned over.

What constitutes an aggravated driving while intoxicated charge?

Driving while intoxicated can have a severe and serious impact on your future. If you have been accused of driving while intoxicated in Missouri, you may be unaware that certain conditions during your arrest, such as a repeat DWI, may result in an elevated charge. These conditions can vary greatly.

For instance, excessive speed can result in an aggravated DWI charge rather than a simple DWI. However, this does not simply mean driving over the speed limit by a few miles. Most excessive speed allegations usually stem from individuals who have been accused of driving a significant amount above the posted speed limit, such as 30 miles over the limit.

Young man charged with felony DWI after crash in Missouri

Facing felony charges at a young age can have a significant impact on the rest of an individual’s life. These serious charges could stem from a party making a mistake, such as driving after consuming alcohol. Felony DWI can result in severe penalties for a party who has been charged, and therefore, that person may wish to assess the situation to determine how he or she would like to proceed.

A 21-year-old driver in Missouri may be hoping to find out more information about his circumstances after he was charged in relation to a single-car accident. The situation reportedly took place when the vehicle failed to remain on the roadway. The vehicle veered off the left side of the street and subsequently crashed into a tree.

Missouri driver may fight possible driver's license suspension

For many individuals, driving is their main means of transportation, and without a license, their lives could be considerably hindered. Unfortunately, one of the first punishments for a DWI conviction is driver's license suspension. Therefore, if an individual hopes to avoid such a situation, he or she may want to consider the best routes for a legal defense or other strategy that he or she may feel could be the most beneficial if such an allegation has been leveled.

A man in Missouri may be looking into his viable avenues after being charged with DWI. The situation reportedly took place earlier this year when the man allegedly hit two individuals who were crossing the street. Witnesses to the accident stated that they apparently saw the driver speeding near the crosswalk when the pedestrians were hit.

How do you qualify for DWI expungement in Missouri?

If you are a Missouri resident who has been charged with DWI, the outcome of your case could result in your pleading guilty or being convicted of the charges. Luckily, a first time alcohol-related conviction may not have to remain on your record. If you meet the qualifications for DWI expungement, you may be able to have the conviction or guilty plea removed from your public records.

It is important to understand that DWI expungement can only occur if it is for the first misdemeanor offense, if the DWI incident occurred in a non-commercial vehicle and if no other alcohol-related charges have come about since the first incident.

Furthermore, an expungement may only take place if at least 10 years have passed since the conviction. If you meet these qualifications, you may be able to enter a request for record clearing with the court in which the conviction took place.

Breath test refusal can lead to consequences under Missouri law

When a driver in Missouri is stopped by authorities due to suspicion of being under the influence, the officer may request that a driver submit to a breath test. Breath test results are often used as evidence in court proceedings if an individual has been charged with driving while intoxicated. However, some individuals may feel that breath test refusal could be in their best interests.

It is important for individuals who consider this option to know that refusing a breath test can come with consequences. According to Missouri DWI laws, refusing to take a breath test can lead to the following:

Call Toll Free 866-794-0947 or fill out the form below.

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close
Super Lawyers 2010
Contact Travis Noble

8000 Maryland Avenue, Suite 350
Clayton, MO 63105
Phone: 314-450-7849
Toll Free: 866-794-0947
E-Mail Today | Map & Directions